Jump to content

  •  

Photo

Can't see files on Server via Remote dialog box


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Matt Klein  Certified Developer

Matt Klein
  • Members
  • 393 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Intermediate
  • Certification:8, 11
  • Membership:TechNet, FileMaker Business Alliance
  • Time Online: 1d 20h 23m 52s

Posted 22 March 2010 - 06:15 AM

Just a quick question.....

Is there any reason, other than firewall, that a FM Pro client could see a FM Server in the Open Remote File dialog box, but NOT see the files on that hosted on that server?

The files ARE set to display in the Open Remote File dialog box.

The files are seen when FileMaker Pro is run on the Server. The files are NOT seen when FileMaker Pro is run on a client.
  • 0

#2 IdealData  IdealData

IdealData
  • Members
  • 2,592 posts
  • FM Application:12 Advance
  • Platform:Mac OS X Snow Leopard
  • Time Online: 8d 13h 2m 19s

Posted 22 March 2010 - 07:56 AM

Is Bonjour installed?
  • 0
Ideal Data - Coherent systems for a chaotic world
I'm available for hire, e-mail me

#3 Matt Klein  Certified Developer

Matt Klein
  • Members
  • 393 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Intermediate
  • Certification:8, 11
  • Membership:TechNet, FileMaker Business Alliance
  • Time Online: 1d 20h 23m 52s

Posted 22 March 2010 - 08:18 AM

Yes. I did that myself during install of FM Pro 11.

I believe the problem has been taken care of by the IT folks at the client site. They turned the firewall off on the server and the files are now available.
  • 0

#4 Steven H. Blackwell  Humble Servant

Steven H. Blackwell
  • Moderators
  • 4,747 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Certification:7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
  • Membership:FileMaker Business Alliance, FIleMaker Platinum Member
  • Time Online: 9d 1h 20m 49s

Posted 22 March 2010 - 08:28 AM

Bonjour is for discovery of the Server. if files are not showing up, then it could be Port 5003. Or it could be that the fmapp bit isn't set in the file. Or it could be that the option to block showing of the file in Open Remote was checked.

Steven
  • 0

Steven H. Blackwell
Platinum Member Emeritus, FileMaker Business Alliance
Platinum Member, FileMaker Business Alliance (2007-2011)
Partner Member, FileMaker Solutions Alliance (1998-2007)
Partner Member, Claris Solutions Alliance (1997)
FileMaker Certified Developer 7|8|9|10|11|12
FileMaker Authorized Trainer 9|10|11|12
_ _ ____________________________ _ _
http://www.fmp-power.com
http://www.filemakersecurity.com


#5 klingsc1  novice

klingsc1
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • FM Application:11 Advance
  • :

Posted 24 March 2010 - 04:48 PM

I have a similar problem - I have a new computer with Win 7, and FM11Adv - but I can't see the remote files. I have installed/uninstalled/reinstalled Bonjour. The server is functioning fine - files can be seen as remote on all other machines. Just not the Win 7 machine. I tried putting in the IP address and that failed as well - said the file was not available on that host. Any ideas?
  • 0

#6 Steven H. Blackwell  Humble Servant

Steven H. Blackwell
  • Moderators
  • 4,747 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Certification:7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
  • Membership:FileMaker Business Alliance, FIleMaker Platinum Member
  • Time Online: 9d 1h 20m 49s

Posted 25 March 2010 - 03:40 AM

Local firewall on the WIndows 7 machine on or off?

Steven
  • 0

Steven H. Blackwell
Platinum Member Emeritus, FileMaker Business Alliance
Platinum Member, FileMaker Business Alliance (2007-2011)
Partner Member, FileMaker Solutions Alliance (1998-2007)
Partner Member, Claris Solutions Alliance (1997)
FileMaker Certified Developer 7|8|9|10|11|12
FileMaker Authorized Trainer 9|10|11|12
_ _ ____________________________ _ _
http://www.fmp-power.com
http://www.filemakersecurity.com


#7 klingsc1  novice

klingsc1
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • FM Application:11 Advance
  • :

Posted 25 March 2010 - 06:11 AM

I have tried it with the Windows Firewall turned on and with it turned off. The machine is on a domain - all other machines are able to see it on the domain.
  • 0

#8 chevell  apprentice

chevell
  • Members
  • 154 posts
  • Time Online: 4h 39m 24s

Posted 07 April 2010 - 09:55 AM

I have just upgraded the Filemaker Advanced software on my FMP Server to 11. (The server software is still 8. That is the next step.) Both FMP 8.5 and 11 are installed on this system. From 8.5, i can get to the files. From 11, i cannot see the server or browse any files. This seems VERY strange to me. Can anyone help?
--
Chevell
  • 0

#9 Steven H. Blackwell  Humble Servant

Steven H. Blackwell
  • Moderators
  • 4,747 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Certification:7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
  • Membership:FileMaker Business Alliance, FIleMaker Platinum Member
  • Time Online: 9d 1h 20m 49s

Posted 07 April 2010 - 03:42 PM

What is this? You aren't trying to use a FMP client installed on the server to access files on that same server are you?

What are your trying to do here?

Steven
  • 0

Steven H. Blackwell
Platinum Member Emeritus, FileMaker Business Alliance
Platinum Member, FileMaker Business Alliance (2007-2011)
Partner Member, FileMaker Solutions Alliance (1998-2007)
Partner Member, Claris Solutions Alliance (1997)
FileMaker Certified Developer 7|8|9|10|11|12
FileMaker Authorized Trainer 9|10|11|12
_ _ ____________________________ _ _
http://www.fmp-power.com
http://www.filemakersecurity.com


#10 klingsc1  novice

klingsc1
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • FM Application:11 Advance
  • :

Posted 11 April 2010 - 03:36 AM

I think he is saying he has 8.5 and 11 installed on the same machine, but he can only see the server files from the 8.5 application, not the 11 application. Could this be Bonjour?

I still cannot get my windows 7 ultimate with FMPA 11 to see the files either. I have tried firewall off/on - no luck!

It worked fine before I installed the upgrade to Ultimate, and the Security Essentials.
  • 0

#11 Haseeb  novice

Haseeb
  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • FM Application:10 Advance
  • Time Online: 3h 41m 28s

Posted 02 August 2010 - 09:49 PM

From my experience, if I do a clean install it can find the the remote host/server, but when I upgraded from old version, it always failed to find remote host/server.
  • 0

#12 wmsonj  newbie

wmsonj
  • Newbies
  • PipPip
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 August 2010 - 05:23 AM

I have the same problem. Fresh install of Windows 7 Pro and FileMaker Pro 11 client. The Open Remote dialog connects to my FileMaker 8 Server but does not list any of the hosted files.

All other clients can see and access the hosted files.

Bonjour is installed. I have tried with Windows Firewall off and on, and have enabled TCP port 5003 for incoming and outgoing. No difference in any of these settings.
  • 0

#13 Matt Klein  Certified Developer

Matt Klein
  • Members
  • 393 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Intermediate
  • Certification:8, 11
  • Membership:TechNet, FileMaker Business Alliance
  • Time Online: 1d 20h 23m 52s

Posted 11 August 2010 - 09:37 AM

Here's another happening with Windows 7 and hosted files....

We just had a customer who has been running Windows 7 with our FileMaker app without an issue for several months. Then, all of a sudden, our startup file could not find the hosted files on the server. The IT staff say nothing has changed.

Our thought is that an automatic Windows update happened at some point recently and has caused the issue.

So, here's where it gets weird....like I said, our startup file couldn't find the referenced file on the server. The file reference in the startup file uses the wildcard convention for the server name. For example, fmnet:/*/filename.fp7.

After the problem began to happen, we checked the Open Remote dialog box. The server appeared under local hosts. When the server was selected, several of the client's other hosted FM files showed up in the list.

That really confused me. This told me that the server was visible to FM on this computer AND the hosted files were visible to this computer.

Our files are set to not display in Open Remote File dialog box, so I wasn't confused by the fact that none of our files were visible. It's just that I expected NO files to be visible.

My next step was to change the file reference in the startup file to use the specific IP address of the server and NOT the wildcard. As soon as I did that, VOILA! the startup file was able to access our hosted files.

I just can't find much logic in it.
  • 0

#14 rwaite  novice

rwaite
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • :

Posted 21 September 2010 - 07:40 AM

I have a snow leopard client that can click on available host but cannot see available files. My Mac OS X 10.5 clients work fine?
  • 0

#15 rmstar  novice

rmstar
  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • FM Application:9
  • Platform:Max OS X Tiger
  • Skill Level:Novice
  • Time Online: 1h 45m 59s

Posted 27 September 2010 - 05:17 PM

I have what appears to be the same issue.

Existing FMS9 on OSX
Multiple FMP8 & 9 clients on OSX & XP

Installed FMP9 on new Win7 box, located on the server LAN segment. Entered server's IP in REMOTE.

No files appear.

FMP9 is patched with v3 update and the SSL update.

Nothing appears in the server logs, AFAICS.
  • 0

#16 Steven H. Blackwell  Humble Servant

Steven H. Blackwell
  • Moderators
  • 4,747 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Certification:7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
  • Membership:FileMaker Business Alliance, FIleMaker Platinum Member
  • Time Online: 9d 1h 20m 49s

Posted 28 September 2010 - 04:30 AM

Welcome to FM Forums.

Did you update the server as well to 9.0.3.326?

See this link on the FMI Web site.

Steven
  • 0

Steven H. Blackwell
Platinum Member Emeritus, FileMaker Business Alliance
Platinum Member, FileMaker Business Alliance (2007-2011)
Partner Member, FileMaker Solutions Alliance (1998-2007)
Partner Member, Claris Solutions Alliance (1997)
FileMaker Certified Developer 7|8|9|10|11|12
FileMaker Authorized Trainer 9|10|11|12
_ _ ____________________________ _ _
http://www.fmp-power.com
http://www.filemakersecurity.com


#17 rmstar  novice

rmstar
  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • FM Application:9
  • Platform:Max OS X Tiger
  • Skill Level:Novice
  • Time Online: 1h 45m 59s

Posted 28 September 2010 - 08:15 AM

> Did you update the server as well to 9.0.3.326?

I did that back when the patches came out. (Well, when I noticed them at the FMP site...) All other clients, new and old, inside the LAN and out, are working. But I do not know if any are on Win7; most are OSX.

Grepping the Event.log, I see lots of "authentication failed" entries over time, but assume they are fatfinger/PEBKAC, not system caused.

I can't tell if any of the logged errors were from the Win7 box; too many other entries about then.

(I'm not sure if Event.log records patch installations; grepping on "install" "patch" & "ssl" is futile.)


ps: I have tail-f'ed the Event.log while she goes to File->Remote etc. No entries.

Also, yesterday I briefly disabled the Windows Firewall and that had no effect either.
  • 0

#18 rmstar  novice

rmstar
  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • FM Application:9
  • Platform:Max OS X Tiger
  • Skill Level:Novice
  • Time Online: 1h 45m 59s

Posted 29 September 2010 - 09:46 AM

Oh bother

Looks like it is Windoze 64 related.
Windows 7 compatibility
  • 0

#19 rmstar  novice

rmstar
  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • FM Application:9
  • Platform:Max OS X Tiger
  • Skill Level:Novice
  • Time Online: 1h 45m 59s

Posted 29 September 2010 - 10:43 PM

Sigh;

Today I tried setting the compatibility mode of the FMP executable to XP and Vista of various ilks; none helped me to connect to the Server.

I figured out how to get telnet enabled; telnet'ed to 192.168.1.42 5003, and got a response. So it's not connectivity.
  • 0

#20 wmsonj  newbie

wmsonj
  • Newbies
  • PipPip
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 September 2010 - 03:42 AM

This solved the problem for me.

I uninstalled FMP from the computer having the problem.

I then reinstalled FMP. But this is the important difference:
make sure you install by using the Setup.exe file and NOT the Filemaker Pro 11.msi file. Setup.exe installs Bonjour correctly. Everything works fine for me with this method -- computer sees the server and all served files that are available.
  • 0




FMForum Advertisers