Jump to content

  •  

UPGRADE DEADLINE - SEPTEMBER 26, 2014!
FileMaker Inc. has a deadline for users of version 10,11, 12 as Individual box or volume licenses (with expired maintenance).
If you don't renew your maintenance and upgrade to FMP 13 you will no longer be eligible to upgrade, at the discount pricing.

Volume Licensing upgrade pricing for FileMaker Pro 13, FileMaker Pro 13 Advanced and FileMaker Server 13 will be discontinued.
Individual upgrade pricing for FileMaker Pro 13 and FileMaker Pro 13 Advanced will increase after September 26, 2014.
As of 27-September-2014, FileMaker 10 products will no longer be available for purchase or support.

http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13865


Photo

Default value on Find within value list


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 itmedex  newbie

itmedex
  • Newbies
  • PipPipPip
  • 3 posts
  • FM Application:11 Advance
  • Platform:Mac OS X Lion
  • Skill Level:Expert

Posted 30 January 2012 - 06:49 PM

We have a field that builds its value list off of itself. When a user enters find mode, the list will display the same value, in this case 2011. How does one change the value to display 2012?
  • 0

#2 Lee Smith  I like the v13 layout tools

Lee Smith
  • Staff
  • 10,154 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • FMGo:iPhone / iPod Touch
  • Platform:Mac OS X Mavericks
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Membership:TechNet
  • Time Online: 229d 12h 56m 23s

Posted 31 January 2012 - 11:34 AM

Hi itmedex,

There are a couple places you can check, the 1st one I mentioned is probably where you are going to need to change it. Go into your Manage Databases, click on the current field, click on the Option for that field, & see if there os an Auto Enter of 2011. If not, you will need to edit the value lists to include 2012.

HTH

Lee
  • 0

#3 bcooney  consultant

bcooney
  • Moderators
  • 5,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • FMGo:iPad
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Certification:9, 10, 11, 12
  • Membership:TechNet
  • Time Online: 23d 6h 16m 3s

Posted 31 January 2012 - 12:55 PM

"When a user enters find mode, the list will display the same value, in this case 2011. How does one change the value to display 2012?"

What do you mean? It displays the same value as what? The last record viewed?

To set a default in FIND, you'll need to script it.

Enter Find Mode
Set Field (myField, "2012")
Pause
Perform Find
  • 0

#4 itmedex  newbie

itmedex
  • Newbies
  • PipPipPip
  • 3 posts
  • FM Application:11 Advance
  • Platform:Mac OS X Lion
  • Skill Level:Expert

Posted 03 February 2012 - 03:58 PM

I solved this mystery. Somebody went and setup a OnViewChange script trigger that was setting the year to 2011 when the user entered find mode. Once I found it and changed it, everything worked fine. Thanks for your help.
  • 0

#5 bcooney  consultant

bcooney
  • Moderators
  • 5,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • FMGo:iPad
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Certification:9, 10, 11, 12
  • Membership:TechNet
  • Time Online: 23d 6h 16m 3s

Posted 04 February 2012 - 12:55 PM

That is one reason I hate triggers. They hide. Good for you that you found it.
  • 0

#6 comment  consultant

comment
  • Members
  • 24,199 posts
  • Time Online: 329d 17h 22m 50s

Posted 04 February 2012 - 01:12 PM

That is one reason I hate triggers. They hide.


If you'll pardon the allusion: Triggers don't hide - developers hide.
  • 1

#7 bcooney  consultant

bcooney
  • Moderators
  • 5,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • FMGo:iPad
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Certification:9, 10, 11, 12
  • Membership:TechNet
  • Time Online: 23d 6h 16m 3s

Posted 04 February 2012 - 02:00 PM

Huh? To me, they're right up there with auto-enter calcs.
  • 0

#8 comment  consultant

comment
  • Members
  • 24,199 posts
  • Time Online: 329d 17h 22m 50s

Posted 04 February 2012 - 04:31 PM

I meant:

Attached Files


  • 0

#9 bcooney  consultant

bcooney
  • Moderators
  • 5,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • FMGo:iPad
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Certification:9, 10, 11, 12
  • Membership:TechNet
  • Time Online: 23d 6h 16m 3s

Posted 05 February 2012 - 05:23 AM

That is definitely a best practice, and we've done similar for "hidden" tab panels, etc. However, I contend that it would be much nicer if FM natively could call your attention to such triggers.
  • 0

#10 comment  consultant

comment
  • Members
  • 24,199 posts
  • Time Online: 329d 17h 22m 50s

Posted 05 February 2012 - 06:56 AM

I agree. But since that's not likely to happen...
  • 0




FMForum Advertisers