Jump to content

  •  

UPGRADE DEADLINE - SEPTEMBER 26, 2014!
FileMaker Inc. has a deadline for users of version 10,11, 12 as Individual box or volume licenses (with expired maintenance).
If you don't renew your maintenance and upgrade to FMP 13 you will no longer be eligible to upgrade, at the discount pricing.

Volume Licensing upgrade pricing for FileMaker Pro 13, FileMaker Pro 13 Advanced and FileMaker Server 13 will be discontinued.
Individual upgrade pricing for FileMaker Pro 13 and FileMaker Pro 13 Advanced will increase after September 26, 2014.
As of 27-September-2014, FileMaker 10 products will no longer be available for purchase or support.

http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13865


Photo
MAC | PC

Client "[client name] [IPaddress]" no longer responding; connection closed. (10)

fms12

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 gillian  enthusiast

gillian
  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Mac OS X Mavericks
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Membership:TechNet, FileMaker Business Alliance
  • Time Online: 7h 33m 44s

Posted 20 March 2014 - 02:04 AM

We are experiencing regular disconnect errors, but I cannot find any information on error (10).

Can anyone shed any light on this please?

 

We have a PC Windows 2008 R2 server FMS 12 and up to 100 FMP clients, predominantly Mac OS 12.05, but also PC FMP 12 clients too.

 

Thanks

 

 

 


  • 0

#2 Steven H. Blackwell  Humble Servant

Steven H. Blackwell
  • Moderators
  • 4,750 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Certification:7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
  • Membership:FileMaker Business Alliance, FIleMaker Platinum Member
  • Time Online: 9d 1h 58m 10s

Posted 20 March 2014 - 04:29 AM

The client is supposed to send the host a "tickle" if there has been no other network activity to the host for 60 seconds.

 

If the host doesn't hear from a client for 125 seconds and doesn't have anything to send to the client, it will disconnect the client since this means the client has failed to send two "tickle" messages.

 

As for the errors: FileMaker Server will log a message like one of the following in the Access.log file when a client connection fails, assuming Client Access logging is enabled:

 

[Client Name, etc] no longer responding; connection closed. (10)

[Client Name, etc] no longer responding; connection closed. (51)

 

The (10) indicates that the 125 second timeout elapsed as described above. The (51) indicates that the TCP connection failed when Server tried to send something to the client. 

 

A frequent cause of this is faulty hardware, including cables, NIC cards, etc.  Is this occurring on multiple machines or just one workstation?

 

Steven


  • 0

Steven H. Blackwell
Platinum Member Emeritus, FileMaker Business Alliance
Platinum Member, FileMaker Business Alliance (2007-2011)
Partner Member, FileMaker Solutions Alliance (1998-2007)
Partner Member, Claris Solutions Alliance (1997)
FileMaker Certified Developer 7|8|9|10|11|12
FileMaker Authorized Trainer 9|10|11|12
_ _ ____________________________ _ _
http://www.fmp-power.com
http://www.filemakersecurity.com


#3 gillian  enthusiast

gillian
  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Mac OS X Mavericks
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Membership:TechNet, FileMaker Business Alliance
  • Time Online: 7h 33m 44s

Posted 20 March 2014 - 05:50 AM

Thank you for your response - we were beginning to suspect network troubles; it is good to know what this particular error code refers to.

Yes this is multiple machines across the entire network, so we are looking into the switches.

Thanks again.


  • 0

#4 Steven H. Blackwell  Humble Servant

Steven H. Blackwell
  • Moderators
  • 4,750 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Certification:7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
  • Membership:FileMaker Business Alliance, FIleMaker Platinum Member
  • Time Online: 9d 1h 58m 10s

Posted 20 March 2014 - 10:50 AM

Also check the NIC cards and the cabling on the server machine.

 

Steven


  • 0

Steven H. Blackwell
Platinum Member Emeritus, FileMaker Business Alliance
Platinum Member, FileMaker Business Alliance (2007-2011)
Partner Member, FileMaker Solutions Alliance (1998-2007)
Partner Member, Claris Solutions Alliance (1997)
FileMaker Certified Developer 7|8|9|10|11|12
FileMaker Authorized Trainer 9|10|11|12
_ _ ____________________________ _ _
http://www.fmp-power.com
http://www.filemakersecurity.com


#5 mlopez  newbie

mlopez
  • Newbies
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • LocationHampton City Schools
  • FM Application:12
  • Platform:Mac OS X Snow Leopard
  • Skill Level:Intermediate
  • Membership:TechNet

Posted 21 May 2014 - 11:02 AM

I am having the same issue in my district, have you found the solution?


  • 0

#6 steveald  novice

steveald
  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Mac OS X Mavericks
  • Skill Level:Intermediate
  • Time Online: 6h 13m 15s

Posted 23 July 2014 - 06:07 AM

I found this issue elsewhere and posed a query there as well, so apologies for the double post.

 

If the server is expecting a response from the client every 60 seconds, then it stands to reason that the Mac Energy Saver preferences must be configured such that "Computer Sleep" is set to "Never" and "Put hard disks to sleep when possible" is unchecked. Correct?

 

This would seem to be the only way to prevent the databases from being disconnected on local network machines every night, which requires them to be reopened every morning, which requires resetting Page Setup every time. I realize this is a separate issue (FileMaker "forgetting" Page Setup settings), but half of the root cause is the same.


  • 0

#7 Rick Whitelaw  Time Saver

Rick Whitelaw
  • Members
  • 703 posts
  • LocationToronto, Canada
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Mac OS X Lion
  • Skill Level:Intermediate
  • Membership:TechNet
  • Time Online: 22d 8h 9m 34s

Posted 23 July 2014 - 11:12 AM

Yes, the server machine should never sleep.


  • 0

#8 steveald  novice

steveald
  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Mac OS X Mavericks
  • Skill Level:Intermediate
  • Time Online: 6h 13m 15s

Posted 23 July 2014 - 12:03 PM

Sorry. I wasn't very clear. I meant the Energy Saver settings on the client machines - both local and remote.


  • 0

#9 Josh Ormond  Director of Structural Entropy

Josh Ormond
  • Moderators
  • 353 posts
  • LocationUpstate NY
  • FM Application:12 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Membership:TechNet
  • Time Online: 38d 18h 20m 22s

Posted 23 July 2014 - 12:32 PM

When the machine goes to sleep, FM stops responding and sending said "tickle". That would cause disconnects.

 

Are you experiencing disconnects outside the machine going to sleep?


  • 0
Josh Ormond
Your Philosophy: "Simplicity is the answer for Complexity."
My Reply: "It takes a great deal of Complexity to make something Simple. Have you seen Google.com?"

=====================================
The FileMaker Rift [RSS]

#10 steveald  novice

steveald
  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Mac OS X Mavericks
  • Skill Level:Intermediate
  • Time Online: 6h 13m 15s

Posted 23 July 2014 - 12:44 PM

I'm verifying that now. The worst case is a remote user who was getting knocked off every 15 minutes or so at times. But not at other times. I had her adjust her Energy Saver settings to see if that resolves it.

 

I'm getting more grief from local network clients who are getting knocked off every night, which means they have to reopen their databases every morning. The biggest issue with that is that FileMaker (v. 13.0.v3) or Mac OS X (v. 10.9.4) - I'm not sure which - is going through it's periodic thing where FileMaker forgets the Page Setup setting whenever a database closes. We have gone through long periods where we didn't have to worry about Page Setup. But now we have to make sure to set it every time we reopen a database - otherwise, our layouts do not print correctly.


  • 0

#11 Josh Ormond  Director of Structural Entropy

Josh Ormond
  • Moderators
  • 353 posts
  • LocationUpstate NY
  • FM Application:12 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Membership:TechNet
  • Time Online: 38d 18h 20m 22s

Posted 23 July 2014 - 03:56 PM

Can you pull the file down off the server ( closing it first of course )? Set the page setup the way it is supposed to be for your layouts. Place the file back up on the server.

 

Or what about using an opening script to set the Page Setup options on the client machine?  http://www.filemaker...26.html#1028361


  • 0
Josh Ormond
Your Philosophy: "Simplicity is the answer for Complexity."
My Reply: "It takes a great deal of Complexity to make something Simple. Have you seen Google.com?"

=====================================
The FileMaker Rift [RSS]

#12 steveald  novice

steveald
  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Mac OS X Mavericks
  • Skill Level:Intermediate
  • Time Online: 6h 13m 15s

Posted 24 July 2014 - 04:26 AM

Both good suggestions, Josh. I'll have to see if that will work with two separate offices using their own, albeit similar, primary printer.

 

EDIT: No luck. As I feared, setting either up for one office is useless for the other office.


Edited by steveald, 24 July 2014 - 05:36 AM.

  • 0

#13 Josh Ormond  Director of Structural Entropy

Josh Ormond
  • Moderators
  • 353 posts
  • LocationUpstate NY
  • FM Application:12 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Membership:TechNet
  • Time Online: 38d 18h 20m 22s

Posted 24 July 2014 - 06:07 AM

Did you try the script step? If you can in some way distinguish which office they are logging in from, you can use the script step to set the Print Setup.


  • 0
Josh Ormond
Your Philosophy: "Simplicity is the answer for Complexity."
My Reply: "It takes a great deal of Complexity to make something Simple. Have you seen Google.com?"

=====================================
The FileMaker Rift [RSS]

#14 steveald  novice

steveald
  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • FM Application:13 Advance
  • Platform:Mac OS X Mavericks
  • Skill Level:Intermediate
  • Time Online: 6h 13m 15s

Posted 24 July 2014 - 06:13 AM

I'll have to see if I can come up with a way to determine which office it is. Suggestions?


  • 0

#15 Josh Ormond  Director of Structural Entropy

Josh Ormond
  • Moderators
  • 353 posts
  • LocationUpstate NY
  • FM Application:12 Advance
  • Platform:Cross Platform
  • Skill Level:Expert
  • Membership:TechNet
  • Time Online: 38d 18h 20m 22s

Posted 24 July 2014 - 09:14 AM

A few options:

  1. Do you have any kind of user table that stores basic info about employees? Not a security password table, just an employee table. If they never work in the other office ( I never trust the word "never", by the way ). During the opening script, search the user table for their user or account name. See what office they work in, and set the print setup accordingly.
  2. Use a scripted print operation, and include choosing the print layout needed.
  3. Use Insert From URL to pick up their Location from Google or somewhere similar, and set the respective print setup.
  4. Give them a button to toogle it in one or more of the layouts.
  5. Get the same printer for both offices. lol

  • 0
Josh Ormond
Your Philosophy: "Simplicity is the answer for Complexity."
My Reply: "It takes a great deal of Complexity to make something Simple. Have you seen Google.com?"

=====================================
The FileMaker Rift [RSS]





FMForum Advertisers