Does anyone takes us seriously?

comment

This topic is 4418 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Has anyone noticed how many threads begin with:

"Hello, I am very new to Filemaker and databases in general, and I have been tasked with the responsibility of creating our company's new database."?

What are the bosses of these people thinking when they assign the management of their data to someone with no skills to handle the task?

I wonder if other forums also get similar messages, for example:

"Hello, I am very new to civil engineering and construction in general, and I have been tasked with the responsibility of designing our town's new bridge."

"Hello, I am very new to money-markets and finance in general, and I have been tasked with the responsibility of managing our company's investment portfolio."

"Hello, I am very new to NASA and space flight in general, and I have been tasked with the responsibility of directing our next shuttle mission."

"Hello, I am very new to hospitals and medicine in general, and I have been tasked with the responsibility of performing our CEO's open-heart surgery."

"Hello, I am very new to physics and science in general, and I have been tasked with the responsibility of developing our country's nuclear weapon."

"Hello, I am very new to the White House and politics in general, and I have been tasked with the responsibility of leading the free world."

(OK, so scratch this last one...)

Why are our skills as developers so under-rated by the executives that they do not hesitate to assign a summer intern to the job?

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Excellent observation here - decadence among the management would I say!!! Talent is falsely considered something we all have - because it takes one to know one are recruitments of people to the management is purely is done by hiring mirror images of themselves.