Do I Need to Deploy New Local Copies

This topic is 3264 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have a solution where the master database is copied and deployed to 3 laptops and 3 iPads for offline use.

I need to add new functionality that will only be used on the laptops. If I add that functionality and it requires new fields to be added to the database and the MirrorSync layouts, can I copy the master and deploy it to the laptops only, or do I need to deploy a new copy to all 6 devices?

In other words, if didn't deploy a new copy to the iPads, would the sync from the iPads to the master fail after adding the functionality?

Ok, great. So if I'm understanding correctly, MS is only going to attempt to sync the fields that are on the MirrorSync layouts on the REMOTE (OR iPad) COPY. If there are extra fields on the MirrorSync layouts on the host, they will be ignored. Correct?

Eventually of course, the iPads will get the new version, but I'm trying to avoid having to bring all of the devices in house at once when pushing out this functionality.

Hey Jason, that's (almost) exactly right. I say almost because it's not the fields on the layout that matter, it's the fields that were pasted into the MirrorSync script. That's splitting hairs though, the net result is as you describe - fields that existed on the iPad at the point in time when the MirrorSync script steps were pasted will be compared to the currently (recent) list of fields from when the configuration process was most recently run. MirrorSync will re-order and omit fields as necessary to get those two lists to match.