Calculated text fields

This topic is 2659 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

OK I admit it ... I'm stumped. I'm not a FileMaker professional, merely an enthusiastic tinkerer.

I'm trying to create a feedback system where a series of standard questions are checked. Based on this, those questions answered 'yes' are combined together and those answered 'no 'are ignored. I have created 2 fields per criteria, 'Preset text' and 'preset question'. 

So ...Preset message = 
(if preset question 1 = yes, include ‘preset text 1’ else, blank){cr}
(if preset question 2 = yes, include ‘preset text 2’  else, blank){cr}
….
(if preset question 10 = yes, include ‘preset text 10’ else, blank){cr}

I've managed to get the display of answers based on yes/no, but I can't get rid of the blank lines.

I'm am probably going about this the wrong way, so any suggestions?

thanks

It is difficult to understand your question because (a) you don't tell us what the expected result is, and (b) the calculation you show us is not valid Filemaker syntax, so we cannot even tell what your actual result is. As it is, I can only guess you want to do something like:

List (
If ( PresetQuestion1 = "Yes" ; "preset text 1" ) ;
If ( PresetQuestion2 = "Yes" ; "preset text 2" ) ;
If ( PresetQuestion3 = "Yes" ; "preset text 3" ) ;
If ( PresetQuestion10 = "Yes" ; "preset text 10" )
)

BTW, I see no reason why this should be a "calculated text field" instead of a calculation field with a text result.

A better solution, IMHO, would be to have each response as an individual record - do a search for "survey".

Edited by comment

• 1 month later...

The above works, but as an alternative:

You were very close. I think what you were grasping for was this...

Preset message = 
if (preset question 1 = "yes", "preset text 1" & ¶,"")&
if (preset question 2 = "yes", "preset text 2" & ¶,"")&
if (preset question 10 = "yes", "preset text 10" & ¶,"")&

Edited by Michael E. Kupietz