Show the maximum score of a student from related table

Sam0316

This topic is 2678 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello everyone, i am new to filemaker. i am now working on student database.

The following is the problem i face.

The relationship of my database is shown as follows

student >> Class >> Class Line Item(portal) , student>>test>>test history(portal)

so in the class layout user could see details of a class. In the test layout, user could find out the test history of a student.

My client now would like to have a report based on the class line item showing the highest score of the student.

But my original idea is to separate the table clearly as shown above. i try to make a portal based on class line item table, but there is no relationship between class line item and test history table so i could not show any related data of the student. For the highest score, i think i will create a summary field to calculate the maximum value of the score.

my question is should i write a script to take the highest score of a student from the test history table to class line item table or modify the relationship between these tables?

A student database is a large bite, even for an experienced developer myself. It will probe to be much more difficult than you expect. So I recommend doing some reading, not just for learning FileMaker but how school systems and enrollment works becsuse I made the mistake of simplifying things two years ago and last year I had to redevelop a lot of it.

Whatever you can separate into logical buckets, you should. So e.g. Score cards should be based on student and enrollment year.

That being said, take a look at the Max function.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

22 minutes ago, Agnes Riley said: