How to average a subquery

This topic is 2645 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

i am a novice when it comes to anything more than basic SQL and am stuck trying to get an average (using SQL) of grouped query result.

My first query is:

SELECT SUM(diffDateTime) as theDiffSum 
FROM Briefs 
WHERE diffDateTime>4 AND Group1 = 'ABC' AND Status = '1' 
GROUP BY ows_ID 
HAVING theDiffSum>99
ORDER BY theDiffSum ASC

this gives me a result like:

Ideally, i would like to form a query on this result set to give an average - a single number, using SQL (not FMP functions).

I've looked around but have been unable to find anything that works (or understand).

e.g.

SELECT AVG(
SELECT SUM(diffDateTime) as theDiffSum 
FROM Briefs 
GROUP BY ows_ID 
HAVING theDiffSum>99
ORDER BY theDiffSum ASC) as test

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated - it is really screwing with my brain (or what's left of it?

Could you not just replace the SUM with AVG like this :-

SELECT AVG(diffDateTime) as theDiffAvg 
FROM Briefs 

2 minutes ago, rwoods said:

Could you not just replace the SUM with AVG like this :-

SELECT AVG(diffDateTime) as theDiffAvg 
FROM Briefs 

Unfortunately not. I need the average of the SUMs.

e.g.

1. the AVG of the SUMs (100,120,123,123,290) = 756 / 5 = 151.2

2. the AVG of the diffDateTime could be ((10,20,30,40), (10,20,20,30,40), (10,20,30,40,23), (10,20,30,63), (10,20,30,40,50,50,90), = 756 / 25 = 30.24

What is the reason you would prefer to do this with SQL instead of a function in FileMaker's calculation engine? You could easily use a (non-SQL) custom function to calculate an average from the return-delimited list result of your first query.

Edited by jbante