Conditional Formatting Based on Records from Another Table

This topic is 2632 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,  I am not a developer so excuse me for asking something that might seem simple. 

I manage a filemaker database for a fire department.  There are many tables but the ones I am referring to are "Incident Reports" and "Pre Plans"

Chiefs or firefighters enter the address of an incident into a new record in "Incident Reports".  On that layout is a button that will take the address and perform a find for that address in the "Pre Plan" table and tell you if that address has a record.  In Pre Plans we store address specific info like electric shutoff and other things.  

My question is:  How do I get the button on the "Incident Report" To change color after someone enters an address?  

I would like it to be RED if there is no related record and Green if there is a record present for that address.  

I already have a relationship linking IncidentReport::Address to PrePlan::Address.  

Thank you for your time!. 

Chris

Hi Chris,

As Lee indicates, you test to see if the value exists.  The value you are looking for, from the perspective of IncidentReport, will be looking through the relationship to PrePlan so your conditional formatting would be something like this:

IsEmpty ( PrePlan::Address )

By the way, this is prime case where one can apply branch prediction.  Will the majority of IncidentReport records lack a related PrePlan address?  If so, color your button initially red since that will affect most of the records then apply not IsEmpty ( PrePlan::Address ) to turn it green.  Or reverse the logic.  Either way, one color of the button should exist and the other be conditionally applied.  There is no need to apply both conditions.

Thank you for the replies.