Script Trigger to show/hide a field based on data in another field

This topic is 2591 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

I am working on an older FMP 11 database and trying to create some new features while we wait to migrate to FMP 14. I setup a layout with some basic data collection, where some of the fields are simple YES/NO drop down selections. The data gets populated into another layout for printing and exporting, and I have a few fields where the visibility needs to be based on the result of the YES/NO response. That seems to be available with the inspector in FMP 14, but all of the users are on FMP 11 for a unknown amount of time. 

I assume this needs to be created using a script trigger on the layout, to run at OnRecordLoad.

Something like If table::record = YES, display this text result. But I am new to FMP and learning the functions.

Any help would be very much appreciated!! Thank you in advance!

One way to do it is with conditional formatting. Based on the results of a calculation, you can change the color of the text to match the layout background; or, you can change the size of the text to a very large number so that it's pushed outside the boundaries of the field or text box.

• Like 2

Hey Fitch do you have an example I can look at possibly? Not sure if I would have to change the YES/NO field to a value list, and return a 1 value with a checked box to base that calculation off. Seems like all these FMP 11 work-arounds get very... creative! Maybe I should push for the new features to be available on FMP 14 and try building them in there?

Another option is to place the objects inside a portal, and make sure that a related record exists or not, based on the selection. It's not quite clear what exactly your need is: do you want to show/hide the fields when printing, or during data entry, or ... ? Your mention of exporting is especially confusing, as that has nothing to do with what's shown on the layout.