This topic is 2557 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello FM community, 

I'm VERY new to FileMaker and i have a daunting task i put upon myself. I know what i want to see but i dont know how to get there in the end. Well i have some ideas but its not working so i thought i'd ask for help.

I'm building an employee check-in/out system for our front desk and i have the basic GUI designed, and i've tried about 20 iterations of coding this thing to work the way i want to but i'm so lost. What i want to do is to be able to have a pull-down list of employee names and tie them to 2 buttons a check-in button and a check-out button. Once you select an employee and a check-in/out button there will be a tab thats called STATUS and will have a green or red indicator next to that employees name showing them being in or out. 

Problem:  I have a 3-person test pull-down; I don't know how to tie Employee A to the Check-in or out button and then to a status indicator. So far what i've done is create a 3-field table, an auto-ID field, an Employee name field and an in/out field. My idea was to make it simple and have the check-in button put a "1" in the corresponding row/cell for that employee name, then to have the status indicator for that person read that cell and make the indicator green for "1" and red for "2". now it works for the first person in the list but i can't make it work for any one else down the list, it just continues to change the first employees status indicator. 

Any suggestions or tips on how to make this work? once i get a good working idea on how to get the back-end table and the pull-down/button/indicator script working I'm off and running! i appreciate any help i can get! thanks in advance!

checkin.png

• Newbies