How do I create a Log for incoming/outgoing calls?

This topic is 7153 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I would like to develop a way of keeping track of all phone calls made and received here in the office. I am very new to Filemaker, is there a simple and efficent way to do this? Your help is much appreciated.

Howdy! There's probably a template you could use (FM ships with a bunch of templates), but if not, you can create simple database yourself. I think you will find it easy to use and work with.

1. Run Filemaker Pro and create a new blank database

2. Define your fields, i.e. what kinds of info do you want to record (date, time, caller, phone number, etc.)

3. Go to LAYOUT MODE and slide the fields around until you like how they are set up; reduce the size of the BODY and/or other parts if you like

4. Go to BROWSE MODE and create a new record (type info in).

With a little more time, you can learn how to do things like have FM auto-enter dates/times (define fields options, insert current date/time from menu, etc.), auto-calculate lengths of calls, track how many calls were made to various people, how many calls so-and-so made this week/month/year, etc. All kinds of things are available to you with FileMaker. You just have to dive in and give it a try.

Good luck!

--ST

And there is more you can do ...

Phone companies now (at least most) can provide ftp file download of incoming/outgoing calls. It produces AccountName (person), CallOrigin, CallDestination, Time, cost, length etc.

I use a CallLog table joined to my Number table (Contact phone numbers, emails, fax, website) and all in & out calls display in a portal on each Contact record. Auto import updates data regularly and displays when anyone from our office has called a Contact - and when the Contact has called us. It even displays the cost so we can track when repeated calls produce sales results.