Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Find Last Related Record

This topic is 5673 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

This has got to be simple, but I'm new to FileMaker (and database solutions in general). I've been reading this forum for about a year while building my previous databases, but this time I'm stuck. Searching the forum has yielded no answer this time, so I registered and am now posting for the first time.

I have a table (x_numbers) with a primary key. It's related to another table (rfq_routing) using the same value as a foreign key. So, one record in x_numbers has many child records in rfq_routing.

The x_numbers are requests for quote. As the pass from department to department in the company, a new record is added in rfq_routing, which displays as a portal in the x_numbers layout. So, at any given time you can see the history of who had the rfq, and who currently has it.

I want to find all the x_numbers records that are marked "Pending" and then find only the last record in the rfq_routing table. Then, I want to total up the quantity of x_numbers in each department.

I have a "table view" layout that shows records from x_numbers, and shows the employee_name and department from a second table occurance of rfq_routing, where it is sorted backward so that only the latest employee_name and dept display.

Ideally, I'd like to run a script to find all pending x_numbers, GTRR in rfq_routing for the found set, and pick out only the last entry for each x_number. Then, I want to total how many of the related records are in each dept. I want to populate this info into another table report_pending, which is a report of the pending rfq's, who has them, and how long they've been held.

Sorry for the long post. Any advice is appreciated. If I'm unclear, please ask me to clarify.

I think I attached a zip file of my database... hope it worked.

Thanks in Advance.

x_numbers_tmp.zip