Set Variable of Filepath:Filename

This topic is 5147 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

hey,

I am a newbie on applescript and I need some help.

I need an applescript to be able to grab the filename and its related path from a folder and place it in a filemaker variable script step. also the applescript or fm script will need to be able to run if there are more than one file in that folder.

help please?

thanks

This can be done, but not exactly as you say. You need to provide a few more details about what you want to do.

It is a little (but not very) tricky to work with AppleScript and FileMaker Script Variables; which are kind of new. The FileMaker API does not expose those to AppleScript. So to set a script variable from AppleScript you would have to set a FileMaker field (global) to the AppleScript value (variable), then a FileMaker script could either set it into a variable, or more likely just use the global field).

As far as grabbing a file path via AppleScript via a dialog, there is a simple command:

choose file

This returns an "alias", which is very useful in AppleScript, but not to FileMaker.

If you want the result as text, which FileMaker can use, you'd use:

choose file as text

Both return a Mac syntax path, as opposed to a Unix syntax path. Neither of which is a FileMaker syntax file path; which is more like a Mac path, in that it includes the drive name, but like a Unix path, in that it is separated by "/" no ":". A little confusing, yes, but easy enough to convert. Here is an example of converting a Mac path to a FileMaker syntax path within AppleScript:

set mac_path to (choose file) as text

set FM_path to "filemac:/" & my ConvertPath(mac_path)

on ConvertPath(mac_path)

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ":"

set x to mac_path's text items

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "/"

set z to x's text items as text

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ""

return z

end ConvertPath