Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Display table while in Form View

SwampFoot

This topic is 4758 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm an absolute newbie to Filemaker. One thing that I can't quite figure out is how to display a table to a user while in Form View. I can get it to work with a portal, but isn't there a way to list information in Form View from the table associated with the layout? If a portal is the only way, how do you let the user search? I read that you are supposed to use tabs, with a different portal on each tab, but that gets cumbersome pretty quick.

Thanks

isn't there a way to list information in Form View from the table associated with the layout?

Not really. A Form view displays one record at a time. To view a list, switch to List or Table view.

Portals are "mini-tables" that can be placed on a form - but getting a portal to show records from the current fond set is far from being trivial.

A simple - though fairly ugly - way is to show records in List view, and turn the header (or footer) part into a "form". This way you can scroll through the list, and the details of the selected record will show above (or below) the list.

I'm an absolute newbie to Filemaker. One thing that I can't quite figure out is how to display a table to a user while in Form View. I can get it to work with a portal, but isn't there a way to list information in Form View from the table associated with the layout? If a portal is the only way, how do you let the user search? I read that you are supposed to use tabs, with a different portal on each tab, but that gets cumbersome pretty quick.

Thanks

You can use portal filter to do "finds" on data once you have defined a basic relationship.

You can also use the FIleMaker web viewer plus "collector scripts" to gather information and display it in tabular format in a web viewer.

Look at some of the reports in the example file available here: