Drop Down Menu triggers font color change

mhburris

This topic is 4091 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have a quick question.

We use a drop down menu to choose a certain color on a work order form.  We them manually fill in a circle on the form with a marker to match the color on the order.  Is there a way to either trigger a colored circle when a choice is made or to change the font color when the choice is made??

Any thoughts would be helpful...keep in mind that I am a bit of a newbie with Filemaker!

I have attached a screen shot for you to look at.  The field with the term "dark grey" is the drop down box.

mhburris

post-103127-0-30137600-1357938293_thumb.

If you want to keep the circle:

Create graphics of each colored circle you want.  Create a repeating container field named Circles with enough repetitions for each color.  Paste each of the colored graphics in one repetition of the Circles field.  (This is all done on a utility layout.)

Create a calculation field ColoredCircle, result container, with the following calculation:

Case(

DropdownField = "Red"; GetRepetition(YourTable::Circles; 1); //assuming the red circle is in repetition 1

DropdownField = "Orange"; GetRepetition(YourTable::Circles; 2);

// etc.

)

On the other hand, it would be easier to use conditional formatting to change the text color (or background color) of the field itself:

Create  conditions  Self="red", etc., with each condition changing the background or text color appropriately. You will need as many conditions as you have colors.

Thanks for the help....

I am having a couple of issues getting this to work

I set up a "dummy" layout to insert the circle pictures in to the containers but the pictures dont stay.  It seems like after each record I have to insert the pictures again.

I think that I got all the calcuations done properly in the ColoredCircle field, because I did get it to work on a couple of records but not all of them??