Tips on how to start a training classes

This topic is 3961 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I'm a filemaker developer (almost 15 years now).

Everything I learned is by myself or with the help of this great FM community.

There are no FM training services in my country (Israel) and I wish to open a company that does Filemaker training and solutions.

Any tips of how to start?

Partnerships is also an option.

all the best

Eldad T.

First thing is: work out what you're going to teach, and how you're going to teach it. This is generally the biggest and hardest part of developing any course IMHO.

Generally, for every hour of course time allow at least 1 day to develop the course materials, which include the instructor "script", student handouts and sample files -- don't forget the sample files, people need to be doing interesting work, and you need to have files for each stage, data for people to import, and the finished result for people to see.

Generally FMP courses are usually 2 days each, and there is an intro, intermediate and advanced course. That adds up to 8x2x3=48 days of development. It is expensive and time consuming, which is why it's cheaper to buy in courseware, at least at the start (even though it may seem really expensive).

I think you need to be a FileMaker Certified Trainer to use the FMI courseware, so you probably cannot use it.

After that: find a place to run the training, then get the people to pay.