Assigning a single contact to multiple events

This topic is 3844 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello, I'm fairly new to FM and I am using Pro Advanced 12...

I have a contacts table and an events table, with PK's for records in each... i want to be able to assign multiple event records to any one contact. How do I do this? I think i require a cross referencing table to store records of PK's in each table, but I'm not quite sure how the relationship should look.

I'd appreciate any help you can give,

PS. Sincerely apologies if I have posted this in the wrong place!!

Steven

You need a join table, in this many-to-many situation.  Each join table record contains one event for one contact

Events::PK  = Join::EventsFK
              Join::ContactsFK  =  Contacts::PK

Then, you can make a portal to Events in a Contacts layout, and show all the events related to that contact.

• Like 1

Thanks for your reply Doughemi! 

Sorry to be dumb, so the join table need 2 fields contact pk and event pk?

So each time I want to assign a contact to an event I create a script to add a new record of the pk's from each table, into the join table. Is this right? 

This probably sounds like a complete newbie request to most but this is not a function I have required in my solution previously. 

Many thanks in advance!

Steven

So the join table need 2 fields contact pk and event pk?

Not quite. the fields should be identified as contact_fk and event_fk (foreign keys), but you will set them to the appropriate pk values.  You can add whatever other fields are needed to contain data having to do with that specific contact at that specific event.

So each time I want to assign a contact to an event I create a script to add a new record of the pk's from each table, into the join table. Is this right? 

Yup!