Keep certain certain fields grayed out unless condition is met

This topic is 2877 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm new to Filemaker so excuse my naiveness (although I have programmed in other languages).  I have 2 tables that are related in Filemaker and essentially on the form I only want fields from the second table to show on screen or be unhighlighted if the record in the first table is found.

For example, perform search for item_no in 1st database and if found display item_no and vendor, once that is found open a new record in the second table for user to add info for the item found.  Also if the item is no located in the first table, give user an opportunity to add a new one and then go on to open a blank record in second related table.

Any easy way for me to implement this is appreciated.

Thanks

Hi Tron50, welcome to FMForums!!

It would help to understand the purpose of those tables and their names and what functionality you are trying to create.  

But with 13, you can easily hide any object or field ( see Inspector > Data tab > Hide ) so all we need to do is find out what you are doing to determine what criteria should hide the fields.

But without context and purpose, there may be better approaches to this issue than simply hiding fields (which DO take resources) so I would suggest supplying a bit more information so we can provide relevant and useful suggestions which more closely fit your needs.  It would also put my mind at ease if you clarified how you have the tables related since it is the first mistake those newer to FM tend to make.  

Again, welcome.   :laugh2:

It is a database to manage inventory in a warehouse.  The first table manages the item no and the description of the item, while the second table contain items and their location in the warehouse (i.e. when a pallet comes in they have to be stocked in a location)

Table 1 Fields          Table 2 Fields