Trouble with script - searching on a date

This topic is 3392 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi,

I'm new here, my first post actually. I'm a pretty experienced developer and know my way around a variety of languages (VBA, HTML, CSS, etc.) and databases (SQL, Access, etc.). Have been working with FileMaker in my spare time for a number of weeks now, and I have to say, if I had to choose between MS Access and FileMake, I'd pick FM without a second thought. I'm finding it SO much easier to work with, once you get your head around a few key concepts.

So my question, and reason for banging head on wall.

I have a small file for tracking a balance book. Has fields like EventDate, Client, Amount, Net, etc. My housemate has a massage business and needs to easily track her incomings and outgoings. The Table and data input Layout are set up and working fine.

What I want to give her is a screen where she can see her total Net Profit/Loss for any given day, any given month, any given year. I'm trying 2 approaches, but both are generating errors that they shouldn't be generating.

Approach 1: On the main form there is a button (so far I have 2 buttons) - This Year and This Month. Click on one of the buttons opens a new layout (RunningTotal) and filters it for either This Year's records or This Month's records, depending on which button you click. The 'This Year' script works fine, but when you click on the 'The Month' button, that script populates the date field with = $ThisYear (a variable that doesn't even exist in the script being run). 

Here's the scripts:

This Year

Go to Layout ["Runningtotal" (Balance Book)]

Enter Find Mode []

Set Variable [$ThisYear; Value: Year(Get(CurrentDate))]

Perform Find [Restore]          - The restore code is:  Find Records: Balance Book::EventDate: [= $ThisYear]

This Month code is:

Enter Find Mode []

Set Variable [$ThisMonth; Value: Month(Get(CurrentDate)) & "/" & Year(Get(CurrentDate))]