Can't crack a relationship

FrancoFranco

This topic is 3137 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

I've got a problem I've been struggling with for a few days now and I'm hoping someone here can help. Apologies if this is actually quite simple. I'm not a complete beginner with FM, but far from advanced.

Anyway, here's the problem: I have a parent table called Collections, and a child called Items. 1 Collection can have many Items. I also have a table called Requests. This table should allow a user to request a selection of items from a particular collection, so that these items can be physically delivered from storage to our premises. Each Request should be unique and retained as a permanent record, allowing us to have a history of when Requests were made and what Item they were for.

This is where my problem starts. I've attached an image showing how the relationships are set up between tables. My problem is that even though on the Request form I can bring up a checkbox set of items that changes depending which Collection has been selected (drawn from a value list), when I create a new request for that Collection the previous Request' selections are already checked, and if changed will effect the previous record. How should this relationship be set up to avoid this? I'd assumed I should use a join table at some point, but wherever I try this I'm told I can't have more than one relationship instance between any two tables...

To take it a step further, often a Collection will have so many Items that the checkbox set field isn't anywhere near big enough. Without a scroll bar option on checkbox sets, it seems to me that in the Requests form that field should in fact be a portal, which will allow a scroll bar. In this instant, how would this effect the above relationship problem?

Thanks again for the help, and taking the time to read this!

Franco

Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 12.13.24.png