Further narrowing Value list results in portal

Lyinggod

This topic is 3125 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am new to Filemaker and developing a document manager in FM13. I have spent a lot of time trying to search this forum and others to find a solution but, probably due to my ignorance, I have not found (or just missed) anything that has been able to move me towards a viable working solution. I have a master list of keywords that I am using with the intent of simplifying navigation instead of using a bunch of cascading portals or drop downs. This approach seems to be the base of my issue.

From the image, the portal on the left side is the keyword master list based on the demo by 1-More-Thing, which is populated using executeSQL. Initially, I tried to setup value lists to limit the results from the master keyword list. In the image, the dropdown shown for the TAGS field is correct as all displayed items are associated with selected portal record. However, I need to further narrow the displayed options to just show the items identified as "Tag #" and exclude the rest. In my attempt to narrow the value field, I created a calculation field (Cat) that populated with main category type associated with the keyword. Therefore the keyword numeric value associated with keyword "TAG #1" would populate with the main category value of "TAG". I then set the relation between "Join Tag" and "Data for Main Library" as

join tag::_keyword = data from main library::ID
and
join tag::cat = data from main library::basecat

however this only seemed to lockup the program