Web Viewer -- "Unsupported Browser"?

awatson

This topic is 2565 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Two new and identical computers. Purchased and configured at the same time.

Windows 7 installed on both.

Filemaker 11 installed on both.

IE Explorer installed on both.

Mozilla Firefox installed on both.

The Web Viewer works for Google Maps on one computer but not the other.

The failed Web Viewer provides the following error message:

"You seem to be using an unsupported Browser".

I've checked "compatibility view" and tried different configurations including disabled and enabled w/wo google.com. Always restarting both IE Explorer and FMP 11 after a change is made.

It’s a preference in the browsers. Also, I’m not a Windows developer, but I believe it will default to IE Explorer.

Edited by Lee Smith
Added the default part

Try to set both to FF; make sure IE, FF and FMP are all closed when you do this. Restart the machines and try again.

Edited by ggt667

Try to set both to FF; make sure IE, FF and FMP are all closed when you do this. Restart the machines and try again.

Thanks. No change to either.

It's odd because they are both brand new and both configured at the same time and have only a couple of third party programs installed including FMP 11, FF and scanning software.

FileMaker Webviewer doesn't use the browser. It uses the built in browser. Safari for OS X, IE for Windows. Changing the default would not have any impact on the function of the Web Viewer.

One thing to check that easily gets "out of sync" between 2 identical machines is Java. Make sure both machines are updated.

FileMaker Webviewer doesn't use the browser. It uses the built in browser. Safari for OS X, IE for Windows. Changing the default would not have any impact on the function of the Web Viewer.

One thing to check that easily gets "out of sync" between 2 identical machines is Java. Make sure both machines are updated.