multi-user timesheet database

nedKelly

This topic is 3061 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

hello

i am looking to create a multi-user timesheet database

i am relatively new to filemaker, so hoping someone can help me or point me in the right direction

here is a brief description of what i would like to do:
- control access via a name/pass
- users would enter time against a single/multiple project(s)
- this would be done manually (ie. no need for a "timer")
- use the exist filemaker security to tie the user to their timesheets
- only allow each user to view only their own timesheets
- have a superUser/admin who can view everyone's timesheets & run reports

is this doable?

is there an off-the-shelf solution or a template that i can use/purchase/refer to

any help or insight greatly appreciated

thanks

Yes; fundamentally, this is very doable. Depending on how many users you will have and how many computers will need to access the solution, you may need to have the solution hosted on a Filemaker server. Did you have a budget for this project?

GisMo

thanks for the reply

approx 30-50 users, so will deinately be using filemaker server

access more than likely via web/filemaker go

could all access/secuity be handled by the built-in security tools, or would there need to be some other mechanism for controlling access to the data

thanks again

nedKelly

including the ability to limit access to just the records that a user has entered, is it possible to do that so that the data is not available, or will it be showing up with the standard "<no access>"?

also possible to have a superUser have access to all records for all users, to modify as required, run reports etc