Psychotherapy DB

Auraboros

This topic is 2948 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi...new to the forum...thanks! I am rather new to FM but have created solutions before...I am embarking the creation of the Psychotherapist's patient database and right off the bat I am stumped. To keep it simple, let's say I have a Patient Table, an Invoice Table, and a Sessions Table...however, my patient table will include both INDIVIDUALS and COUPLES...a couple consists of two people, with unique information for each person, name, phone, email, siblings, parents, etc. However, they will still function within the database as ONE unit...meaning they couple will receive many invoices (addressed to the joint address, or a specified email address, or both email addresses) the couple will have many sessions...but a session and invoice will be linked to only one couple, not two individuals. Should I approach this with hidden fields and just use the same table for both couples and individuals but have the unique fields for couples show up if a radio button is pressed? Or should I somehow join two individual records into one (??) or what? How would this be solved? THANKS!!!!

I would probably add a BillingEntity table to hold this information, then the two people can be added to that Billing Entity - I can also see the possibility that the Billing might go to someone different again (their Employer, for one possibility)

• Like 1

@webko nailed it. You might want to google "database party model" as this is a database design problem that comes up a lot.

As a rule of thumb, when there's people involved, you're going to need a people (or "Person") table. Then, if you need the kind of functionality you described, you'll make a "Party" table (aka Billing Entity).

Welcome to the forums.

• Like 2