How do you troubleshoot?

Philip Curtis

This topic is 2897 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I am new to Filemaker and learning on FM-Pro14-Adv.  I am reading 'The Missing Manual' book and also following Udemy's free Contacts Database FM video tutorial.  I am building my second DB which is a more detailed contacts list.  My first is a simple inventory DB I am using at work.

My frustrations are coming with troubleshooting problems that come up.  As I follow along on the video, I am getting different results then what is shown.  I am not even sure how to troubleshoot the problems.  I am an engineer and very systems oriented and obviously I do not know the program well nor the structure.  Does anyone have suggestions on how they troubleshoot problems?  What structure do you use?  Goings from the easiest to the more complex problems first, or using comparison methods?

I really could use a suggestion here.  It feels like I am doing a simple DB and getting stumped consistently.

Thanks,

Phil

Hi Philip,

I’m not quite sure what your question is. I haven’t read the missing manual nor have I watched Udemy’s  video, so I have no idea what you’re talking about. There are many ways to accomplish the same things in FileMaker. Perhaps you could attach a copy of your file and explain to us what you’re trying to do and what’s happening.

Lee

21 minutes ago, Philip Curtis said:

Hi,

Does anyone have suggestions on how they troubleshoot problems?  What structure do you use?  Goings from the easiest to the more complex problems first, or using comparison methods?

Your two best friends when it comes to troubleshooting are the Data Viewer and the Script Debugger.

When you troubleshoot, make no assumptions, just step through each line of the script, watch for errors (reported at the bottom of the Script Debugger window) and inspect the data in the Data Viewer.  You may want to add some things in the "Watch" tab of the Data Viewer, such as: