How do I start this?

tdub808

This topic is 2965 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Aloha Everyone,

First off I'm ESL and my gramma is not up to par with an English major. Second, I'm a photographer and not a programmer. That said, I am determine not to let that stop me from learning FM enough to program me a simple but functional DB. I'm familiar enough to understand and get around FM and it's back end but have not spent enough time to know it intimately like one who spend everyday in FM. In other words, I know basic of FM parts and functions and attributes but have not had the opportunity to learn how to connect everything together to make one simple idea to work. Lastly, I'd greatly appreciate you all for taking the time to help me with my issue. I'd only ask if you all can be a little bit more descriptive in your answer then a vague simply answer like "you should use a calculation." 

Here is my simple idea but seem complex issue for me:

I have two files, one is a CONTACT file (the starter kit) and another is a CONSENT file I'd created from scratch. Both files have the corresponding table names. I want to be able to type in the name fields of the CONSENT file to check the CONTACT file for a matching name. If there is a match then use that name and associate the CONSENT record to the CONTACT record. If there is no matching record in the CONTACT file then create a new record in the CONTACT file with the name that was entered.

UPDATE for clarity:

To clarify I do not want to create any duplicate records nor do I want to import the CONSENT table into the CONTACT. I'll update the post to reflect this.