SQL SLOW

This topic is 2262 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have a Db with 265,000 records. I am attempting to find the Unique Value count of a field called PRODUCT SKU in a table called SALES.

ExecuteSQL (

"SELECT DISTINCT \"PRODUCT SKU\"

FROM \"SALES\"";

""; ""

)

I created a calculation field called SKU COUNT with the above SQL. At the moment the query is running at a pace of about 6 seconds per record. I'm obviously doing something wrong. 

ExecuteSQL is a great feature in FM, but it has limitations. I was told I shouldn't use it on a larger than 40K record dataset. However, FileMaker native find is incredibly fast.

Also, your SQL query does not produce a count. 

This is what you need:

1. SELECT COUNT (DISTINCT column-name)
  2. FROM table-name

Hope this helps!

Edited by Agnes Riley

I'm new to the concept of SQL queries in FMPro so you'll have to forgive me. Every forum post I've found for Counting Unique values in a field give that same SQL code. So I'm not certain I understand what's going on there...

I also don't understand the use of "column name"?

LIterally, what I'm trying to do is this. I have a DB with products. It has a product sku field, product description field, product category field, number sold field, etc...etc...

Each sale is a record.

My job is to parse out the data to other individuals so they can Categorize each product sku. All I'm really trying to find out is how many SKUs that haven't been assigned to categories yet. I can do a find on the blank (=) product category field but it will return 156,000+ records because it's looking at the occurrences of the SALES that have no category assigned versus the SKU.

The column name refers to your field name. 

Your SQL calculation is missing the Count() function. This is not a FileMaker problem but a malformed SQL function problem.

Your calc should be:

ExecuteSQL (

"SELECT COUNT ( DISTINCT \"PRODUCT SKU\")

FROM \"SALES\"";

""; ""

)