help creating custom login system

This topic is 7254 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

Hello, i was wondering if someone can give me a hand with this. we have 28 databases right now and i was not here when they were build, i want to build a custom login system for the employees. I have check some solutions like the gateway but i am new to fm that i dont know where to begin when it come to that that solutions.

Here is what i want to do. i want to create a solution where i can give each person their login/password to access the databases. The deal is that once they are login, i want the databases that correspond with their L/P to open automatically. I have the divide the everyone into groups: Operation, Adminission, Managers. Some people need access to some database to edit/create record, other just need to browser for record and print them out. i want to create administrator interface where i can add new users and enable their privilage. right now, we are using general password the groups.

any help would be appreciate,

Thanks,

victor

Hi Victor. I'm right in the middle of something now- just saw your post. Rather than explaining in detail here, I can send you an example of how I do a login system with our databases. It works very well.

It involves creating a master login, one record file with a few globals; and another one, or perhaps two user files, depending on how you prefer to set it up. Then the privileges for each specific database are set in the user file. Creating a relationship from the master login to the user file (master::USERPASSWORD = user::USERPASSWORD) then enables user access privileges for each user.

Let me know if you are interested, and I can send them to you fully open and you can check the scripting of the system.

Manny Silva

Child and Family Services

New Bedford, MA

[email protected]

• 2 months later...
  • Newbies