Sending email from FileMaker 5 Server

Jason Barker

This topic is 7534 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have FileMaker 5 Server on OS 9 and a custom web form. The web form is used for creating new records in FileMaker. I want to be able to send an email to an email address provided by the user (via the web form). From what I understand SMTPit and MondoMail/FM are both plug-ins and plug-ins are not supported for server versions. Any ideas of how I can get an email sent from within FileMaker server?

Thanks!

You wouldn't send the mail from FileMaker Server, but from the client user's FileMaker Pro. Put the plug-in into the client's FMP folder, and off you go. FM Server just deals with networked disk-serving, when you get down to it.

-Stanley

Yikes! Um, Stanley...

I'm pretty new to FileMaker. I have been using FM Pro on my Mac for about a week. When I read your post about what FM Server really does, I went over to that box to check it out. I had assumed it was similar to FM Pro (which to my surprise, it is not). So, now I have a few more questions to help clarify your answer to my first question.

Are the scripts I've created for a particular FM file embedded in that file?

If we are running FM Server to serve up the database files, do I need to run FM Pro on the same server so that I can use plug-ins?

Are there web security databases that can be accessed/configured on FM Server? Can they be edited, modified and configured with FM Server (like setting up usernames, passwords and access privileges)?

Thanks for your help!

Jason:

1. The scripts are imbedded in the file

2. The plug-ins go in the FM Pro file on the user's machine, NOT on the Server machine.