Jump to content

Multiple Copies of files open simultaneously


T-Square

This topic is 7554 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Recommended Posts

I have a multi-file solution that I have deployed with two clients, and I keep archive copies of these two versions (for troubleshooting purposes), along with my development copy. For some reason that I cannot understand, Filemaker will cross-link the different copies of the solution. For example, if I open client copy "A", FM will open files that belong to client "B"--sometimes simultaneously. This has the potential to really screw up my clients' systems, oir my development platform, as I change settings in what I beleive to be copy "A", only to find that they are copy "B" files.

This all is exacerbated by the fact that FM makes NO INDICATION of the actual location of a file it has opened, so there is no feedback supplied when I am about to cross-edit database files.

I do not understand the mechanics or reasons for this, but I suspect it has something to do with how the relationships are built, and how the scriptmaker runs.

If anyone has a recommendation either on how to keep FM from doing this evil deed, or on how I can maintain multiple copies of the same database on one computer separately and safely, I would appreciate some advice.

David

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Filemaker is notorious for opening the wrong file if there is more than one with the same name. If possible, keep the copies that you are not working on in a compressed archive.

I haven't had too much trouble when working on files when they are all kept together in the same folder, and the "save relative path only" option is checked (when you select file names in your relationships and scripts etc.).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Well, YUCK. At least you've confirmed my suspicions. I haven't had the same reliability with the "save relative path" relationship option. I DO think there's something in the script engine that somehow automagically knows which copy is the absolute worst one to open (like that version .9 beta stuck in a remote folder on a second drive), and opens that. ;(

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It is particularly fond of the older file that you recently put in the trash, instead of the 100,000 record file you just imported into, after renaming it from a clone; giving you a minor heart attack until you remember that you did not EMPTY the trash or rename the file.

It's not really FileMaker's fault, since the trashed file was the last one you were using before, so that's the one it remembers. One of the aspects of being a FileMaker developer is keeping your files and names under strict control at all times.

Another fun experience is to log on to the user's files remotely, then notice 2 of everything in the Windows menu; oops, forgot to compress your local files again ???-/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you've got FMD it's quick and easy to use the developer tool to rename the files (add a prerfix) to make a separate development system. That waay there'll be no interaction between them.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This topic is 7554 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.