Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Fields, buttons and events

This topic is 7392 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

i'm an experienced lotus domino developer but new to filemaker for a small project...

i want to generate a "work log" within a field, displaying what has been done with an issue, in my old world i would say something like

txtHistory=txtHistory+txtLatestUpdate

with an allowance for carriage returns etc.

i'm unfamiliar with the Calculation feature of fields within fm, and everytime i reference the field i'm within it gives me a circular reference error. do i need a temp field or something similar?

when does a calculated field get calculated - at read of record, or edit of record, or on change of data (which data?) or on close of document or some other times???

can i kick off scripts automatically based on a user entering or exiting fields?

additionally what's the equivalent of the Inputbox, or the ability to create custom dialog boxes (if possible??)

any help appreciated before i lose my final bits of hair?

I don't quite follow your specific problem, but here are some answers for your general questions:

jon2004 said:

i'm unfamiliar with the Calculation feature of fields within fm, and everytime i reference the field i'm within it gives me a circular reference error. do i need a temp field or something similar?

In general, as you've found, you can't have a field calculate itself. You need to make a second field that calculates your original field (input field) into the shape you need. You can display them side by side, only display the calculation field for reports etc., or whatever you need.

when does a calculated field get calculated - at read of record, or edit of record, or on change of data (which data?) or on close of document or some other times???