Invoicing Problem

Benny

This topic is 7377 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

This is my first time on this forum,So bear with me guys.I have a done a invoicing system on the lines of the one shown at http://www.maclane.com/portinv.htm .It is extactly the same ,except In the Inventory file I have added a new field called "Qty" holding the stock quantity of the product.And also added a button called "Process" to the Invoice file.What I want to do is when I click this button I want to run a script that will substract the oder quantity in the line items file from the stock quantity in the Inventory file.Every way I try to do this only the first entry in the Inventory gets udated.Please not that the invoice line items are displayed in a portal in the Invoice file at the time of calulating.Thanks for your help in advance.

Hi Benny ...

Welcome to the Forum smile.gif

Basically what you are trying to do involves stepping through each line item record and deducting the Quantity from the inventory count for that item.

This can be accomplished most easily by performing a Go To Related Record [show Only Related] script step from the Invoice record. This will assemble a found set in Line Items consisting of only that Invoice's related records. You'd then call a subscript in the Line Items file to loop through the found set and perform the stock deductions based on what I assume is a relationship you've already set up between the inventoryID in Line Items and the inventoryID in Inventory. The subscript in Line Items would go something like:

Go To Record/Request [First]

Loop

SetField [inventoryID | Inventory_inventoryID::productcount, inventoryID | Inventory_inventoryID::productcount - quantity]

Go To Record/Request [Next, Exit after last]

End Loop

However, there are a couple of problems with this method: