Needing some help

TigerBoyAU

This topic is 7216 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi. I am new to all of this although I have been using filemaker for a long time. I have mainly used it for just inputing my friends contacts etc. I think filemaker is pretty awesome, however alot of manuals don't help much to creating something that I really need.

I'll try to explain to the best of my knowledge, and if I can have this created, I wouldn't have a problem in sending it to who ever wants it. Currently I have many fields, with photos of my friends, and all the information as address, numbers, birth dates, height weight etc.

I have created 7 tabs, a layout for each, which are. Personal, Contact details, Photo, Information, Messages (TXT), Email Messages and related contacts.

Messages (TXT) and Email Messages: In here I want to be able to add text to these after I click on the add button, and have these come up as a list when I click on the tab.

I not sure if anyone has seen ecorganizer (Filemaker) but I think it's pretty kewl, but it's not exactly how I want it. In the contacts I really like how they have the Appointments, Task, Notes, Messages, etc. I want something like that, but not displayed that way. Feel free to ask to see what I have done so far. I really need some help with this as I have over 144 friends and most of them are online, so I want to be able to keep a track of all the messages and stuff in one location. The most important part I need is to be able to list the messages and when I click on that message it will display it for me and I can edit, add or delete it.

Anyway I hope someone can help me with this.

• 4 weeks later...

If I understand correctly, for each friend you want to be able to store multiple text messages and email messages, as opposed to a single text/email message that you just keep adding to each time you have a corespondence.