Simple Script Help

This topic is 7357 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I need to write a very simple script, however I'm new to this so not sure what to do. All it basically has to do is when First file is updated in any way or a new record is inserted, the Second file needs to be automatically updated.

Thanks in advance,

The first file has records with about 50 fields. The second file has the same records with only the name and address fields. So every time a record is added or updated in the first file, it als needs to be automatically updated in the second file. No relationships are setup yet. I'm not sure how all this works together in FM.

OK, in both files create a calculated number field (call it cConstant) that returns a value of 1 (when you go to Define Fields and select calculation, enter the number 1 in the forumla window and make sure the field is set to be a number). From your 2nd file (the Child file) define a relationship to the 1st file (the Parent file) that is based on the cConstant field in both files. This is called a constant-to-constant relationship.

In both files create a auto-enter serial number field(this gives each record its own ID), called nID

In the Child file create a number field, nParentID. Create a realtionship from Child to Parent that links nParentID (in the Child file) to nID (in the Parent file).