Server Maintenance This Week. ×

A newbie needs help

This topic is 7357 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi!

I havent using filemaker scripts and I have stumbled to situation where a good script would do a trick.

Problem is with contents of field. I have to underline first name. Names with underlining uses 'pointers'

example: <u>Johnny<p> and it should become underlined without those 'pointers'

I am really a beginner with this Filemaker and Im open to all suggestions how Id get solved that problem.

This is a trickier problem than it looks. I had a similar situation with a text field containing italicized portions. My data had html italic tags, as <I>italic</I>. I wanted to delete the tags and italicize the portion inbetween. What I had to do was figure out which record had the biggest number of italicized passages (13!). then I had to make separate calculation fields for each chunk. Using your example, if your field contained: "example: <u>Johnny<p> and it " I'd make three calc fields;

Text1 = example:

Text2 = Johnny

Text3 = and it

You do this by using the position & length functions to hunt for the first occurance of <u> and going to the first occurance of <p>, thus selecting the data inbetween.

Now take your text fields, make Text2 into an underline format, then put them together as merge fields on your display layout;

<<Text1>><<Text2>><<Text3>>

This will print correctly, as well.

This is a clumsy way of doing this job, and the calculations of your text fields can get pretty tricky, but it works. If nobody else comes up with a more elegant solution, and you still need the help, post again and I'll give you examples of my calculations.

Steve Brown

• Newbies

First of all thanks to you spb.

I really appreciate that you are helping me, but like I said Im really a beginner. I have some kind idea now, but those calculation examples would help me even more.

thank you in advance.