Faxing / Exporting what should I do?

This topic is 7340 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi Everyone!

I need some ideas/help/suggestions.

I am very new to filemaker and because I am the one with the most computer knowledge I have been given the task of automating some actions. It looks as though scripts will be the best way.

Here is what I need to do:

At the end of each month, find all records that have had samples sent to customers from the month before ie. On March 31 pull up records from Jan 1 to Jan31

Merge the customer information to a letter(already set up)

and print each letter(heres the major catch) In printing each letter the print setup can be changed to actually use our fax machine and print to fax. However the script has to be able to select fax within the print dialog and put in the # for each record.

Does this sound at all possible? or is it just a pipe dream?

If this cant be done then I have another way to do it:

At the end of each month, find all records that have had samples sent to customers from the month before ie. On March 31 pull up records from Jan 1 to Jan31 (same as above)

Export the data to word, use a macro in word(can the scripts in FM activate a word macro?) which would then merge the fax # into a format the fax machine understands.(it converts all of the fax #'s into e-mail addresses that are sent to the fax e-mail relay station) Then use an e-mail client to e-mail the fax#'s(which the the fax machine takes over and starts faxing)

It all sounds possible to me. But I see some issues, the main one being my lack of knowledge for scripting, however, I am very willing to learn.

I would really appreciate any input anyone can give me or maybe point me in the right direction.