Printing labels without duplicates n address field

This topic is 7298 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hey everyone, I dont think my post went thru so let me try this again. Basically Im just trying to figure out the necesary script/find criteria/whatever for printing out labels from FM7.

I want to be able to print labels for every contact found in the "Contact" Table, and each Contact has a ContactID. Well the problem is, married couples have seperate Contact ID's and I'm only wanting to send one letter to them, not two, so I'm wanting to search for duplicates in the Address field of the contact table and only list one in the label layout/printout. I figure this way no matter how many contacts from a single household signup, itll only make one label for that Address (I dont care which person's name gets put on the label). Is there a simple enough solution to this? I'm new to filemaker so clear instructions are greatly appreciated.

I've looked around for a similar post/solution but couldnt find anything so hopefully someone can help out. I truly appreciate it, this forum has been a Godsend! Thanks again!

FileMaker Version: 7

Platform: Windows XP

One way is to have your labels on a Sub-summary by Address part. To do this you would want to use an Address calc that concatonates all the parts of an address that make a houshold unique (Address, Zip, Unit.) Then sort your list by Address calc.

The problem with this method is you get labels that are in order by address instead of something useful, like Name.

Thanx Ender for responding... I tried to figure it out but Im still a little stumped. First of all I dont need any concatination cuz i just want to compare the StreetAddress Field (Ex: 1234 Circle Dr.) so can i not reference to the streetaddress field in the Contact table rather than creating an additional calculation field?