Server Maintenance This Week. ×

need Quickbooks?

This topic is 6808 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

We have a very small Web-based family business, selling artwork. The family member who handed accounting and order fulfillment is leaving the partnership, and I have to take over his role. I'm new to this, but used Filemaker many versions ago.

Until now, records have been kept in QB. I know that FM can handle many accounting tasks that QB handles. My question is, do I need both programs? We do not need to handle payroll or invoices (people pay upon ordering), but need to track income and expenses for tax purposes. The volume of orders is very low, at most a couple a month.

If I can manage with just FM, that would appeal to me because I'd also use it to track marketing, special offers, etc.

Another way to express my question: under what circumstances DO you need both programs?

Thanks!

Yes, it's at filebookslink.com, but it only works with PC. I'm on Mac. Anyway, it doesn't matter. My question isn't whether you can link the two programs, but whether I NEED both programs.

What would I be missing without QB? What can QB do that FM can't do?

One thing that comes to mind is handing off data to an accountant. Many can handle QB but most have no clue about howw to use data from FMP. There are some (reportedly as I have not used them) fairly full featured accounting solutions done in FMP.

Powerdog:

AFAIK, there's nothing QuickBooks does that FMP can't be taught to do. I'm in the middle of developing an accounting suite for a client, and building a checkbook register was one of the simplest things I've ever had to do in FileMaker. You can build accounts receivable, accounts payable, etc., fairly simply. As far as sending data to an accountant, they can use tab-separated data for import into QuickBooks (according to this client's accountant, that is), and you can always just build printed reports.

-Stanley

Stanley,