Saving sorts and searches?

This topic is 8115 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm somewhat new to FM Pro, using 3.0. My background is AppleWorks, and I know the database in AW can save sorts and searches to use later. As much as I look, I can not find anything like this in FM Pro.

Practical example, I have a FM database of employees, sometimes I want to sort it by employee name, sometimes by dates, and so forth. Is there a way to save the sort (or a search) so I don't have to recreate it every time? What I want to save are the sort or search criteria (sort by employee name then address, or search for all companies in Chicago, etc.), not the results. This is also how it works in Appleworks, if that gives any direction I'm going. Scripting is fine with me, I like ScriptMaker in FM Pro and I've had some modest success with it, but I can't nail down this solution.

Thanks for any suggestions!

Russ Conte

[ December 29, 2001: Message edited by: [email protected] ]

quote:

Originally posted by [email protected]:

I'm somewhat new to FM Pro, using 3.0. My background is AppleWorks, and I know the database in AW can save sorts and searches to use later. As much as I look, I can not find anything like this in FM Pro.

Practical example, I have a FM database of employees, sometimes I want to sort it by employee name, sometimes by dates, and so forth. Is there a way to save the sort (or a search) so I don't have to recreate it every time? Scripting is OK, I like ScriptMaker in FM Pro and I've had some modest success with it.

Thanks!

Russ Conte

First, I'd recommend you upgrade to the current version, FileMaker Pro 5.5. There is a world of difference, and there are scores of new features.

Manually do your find and sort. THen immediately create a script with FInd and sort steps. THe script will remember the criteria.

HTH

Old Advance man

Copy_and_Paste_r2.zip

• 2 weeks later...