Server Maintenance This Week. ×

FM Pro 4 - FM Pro 7

This topic is 6988 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I BEG for pardon if I posted this thread in the wrong site.

I am a very very new user of FM Pro. Currently my office is using FM Pro 4. We are thinking to upgrade to version 7 very soon.

(Please bear in mind that I am totally new to FM)

1) I heard that in FM Pro 7, I can post all the databases on a website. Is this true? If it is, can anyone with access to a web browser be able to access my databases? Even those without the FM program installed? Will these users be able to edit the records in the d/bases online?

2) I need to create a facility-booking scheduling calendar for the office. Purpose is to allow creation/cancellation booking of board rooms, meeting rooms, office equipment, etc. Does FM Pro 7 carry this feature? Or can you recommend any 3rd-party softwares that may run integratively with FM Pro? I saw Meeting Maker, just wondering if someone'd recommend me more.

I appreciate any feedback. Thank you.

"I heard that in FM Pro 7, I can post all the databases on a website."

You can in FMP 4 too, it was one of it's biggest features. FMP 7 does it much better.

"I need to create a facility-booking scheduling calendar for the office."

Sure FMP 7 can do this. It'll be a lot of work though... in *any* database development system. There may be some pre-built systems around, but don't expect any freeware.

Thank you for your reply Mr Vaughn.

1) "I heard that in FM Pro 7, I can post all the databases on a website."

You can in FMP 4 too, it was one of it's biggest features. FMP 7 does it

much better.

How can FM4 databases be hosted on a website? Please pardon my seemingly "stupid" questions for I am REALLY clueless. By "website" do we mean "the Internet" or for just a local LAN?

2) "I need to create a facility-booking scheduling calendar for the office."