Newbies arqwei Posted November 29, 2000 Newbies Posted November 29, 2000 Here is what I need: In an Invoices file where I have to enter the data of my Customers, one of the fields is Category ( it?s defined by a value list), and the Price of the Product depends on Customer Category. In the Invoices Layout I have a Portal to Articles Sold and when I add a new Invoice and the Category changes, then I need the right Price for that Category. In Articles Sold when I take a Product by his COD there is a match to COD form Products but I need to have the right Price when the Category of the Costumer changes, and I can?t accomplish that, every time the Price is the repeated from the first match. In Products file I have two different prices that depends on Category of the Customer. Thanks in advance, and sorry for my poor English (I speak Spanish). Jose Weisinger, from Venezuela S.A. ------------------
Chuck Posted November 29, 2000 Posted November 29, 2000 I think I understand what you want. Try this. In Products database, two different price fields: Normal_Price, VIP_Price In Customers, a field: Customer_Type (set to Normal or VIP). Since the relationship of Invoices to Products in probably many-to-many, you'll need a join file, which I'll call Line_Items. Line_Items will be related to Invoices based on Invoice_ID and to Products based on Product_ID. There will be two calculation fields in line items: Normal_Price = Products::Normal_Price and VIP_Price = Products::VIP_Price. Invoices will have a calculation field called Customer_Type set to Customers::Customer_Type. Finally, Line_Items will have a calculation field, Price, set to: Case(
Newbies arqwei Posted December 1, 2000 Author Newbies Posted December 1, 2000 thanks Chuck for your reply, I need to know how to set the Customer_Type to Normal or Vip, it is by an AutoEnter Data= VIP?, remember that I have defined that field by a Value List (that Value List has 10 Values but two different prices in Products). Jose Weisinger ------------------
Newbies arqwei Posted December 1, 2000 Author Newbies Posted December 1, 2000 thanks Chuck for your reply, I need to know how to set the Customer_Type to Normal or Vip, it is by an AutoEnter Data= VIP?, remember that I have defined that field by a Value List (that Value List has 10 Values but two different prices in Products). Jose Weisinger ------------------
Chuck Posted December 1, 2000 Posted December 1, 2000 Well, if you have a field for Customer_Type that can have one of ten values, and which of those values determines which pricing they get, you will want to have another field, perhaps called "Pricing_Type" which is set to either "Normal" or "VIP" depending on which value is in Customer_Type. Then you would use Pricing_Type as the basis for your calculating the price to charge. Pricing Type would be set to something like this: Case(
Recommended Posts
This topic is 8849 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now