Jump to content

Deleting and renaming Databases


ashevis
 Share

This topic is 5742 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Recommended Posts

  • Newbies

I'm relatively new to Filemaker, so pardon me if this is a basic ("stupid") question. I've FM8 set up in a networked environment where it is hosted on a server and the files are open for sharing to 4 users on our network. One of the users is asking me if she is able to delete a database from a workstation that she is accessing from the hosted server. I've searched the help menus and the knowledge base and see nothing that mentions this. Is this possible? From what I can tell, the file has to be closed on the server before it is deleted. Also, same goes for renaming a file/database. Can a file be renamed by a user who has opened the file remotely? I see you can "Save as" but that creates a duplicate w/a new name, it doesnt really rename it. Any help is appreciated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No, deleting or changing the name of files must be done on the host machine (after closing them.) It would be pretty scary if remote users could delete files.

Keep in mind that changing the names of files could break relationship, script, and value list references. The File References of dependant files must be changed to use the new names as well.

Edited by Guest
Link to comment
Share on other sites

This topic is 5742 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.