How can I fix this badly designed database structure...???

angelleye

This topic is 6565 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm a web developer with a client that is using Filemaker. He gave me a set of Filemaker files that are empty that he's designed over the years and wants to use it. One major problem with this configuration, though, is that he's using the phone number as the ID for customers which pulls billing/shipping information into the invoices based on what's in there. I might as well explain in detail...

Here is a look at the customers file: http://angelleye.sytes.net/dealsdirect/temp/customers.jpg

Here is a look at the invoices file: http://angelleye.sytes.net/dealsdirect/temp/invoices.jpg

Now, there are 2 things I don't like about this and they both kinda go together. The first thing is that he's only got a Name field. Not FirstName and LastName. That's not quite as important to me as this, though...

He's using the phone number as the relationship between the customers table and the invoices table. When you type in a phone number that exists in the customers table, it automatically inserts the rest of the billing information for that person based on what's in the customers table for that phone number.

Now, the problem is this...let's say you have an invoice for a person and both the billing and the shipping address the same. Well, later they buy something and they ship it to a different address. So, you're filling out the invoice and you first put in his billing phone number, it fills in his billing address for you. Great. But then, you put in a different shipping address for this invoice and what happens...it changes the shipping address in the customers file for that phone number and in turn changes the shipping address on all previous invoices associated with that phone number!!! Not good!