recipe database using "kitchen inventory"

This topic is 6446 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi everyone...

This is my first post to the forum, and although I am listed as a "beginner" in my profile, I'd prefer to call myself a "complete noob." I am working with the trial version of Filemaker 8 and am trying to put together a test database to help me learn the program..

I use Salesforce.com and see many parallels to FileMaker... I have spent quite a bit of time watching some tutorial demos online and feel like I have a general grasp enough to make something like a "DVD collection database" or something simple...

I'd like to spend this week developing a recipe database that would allow me to generate a shopping list based on recipe choices and also based on what I have in my "kitchen inventory."

The way I see it, I will need three databases. The first one will be the recipe database. The second will be be my "kitchen inventory" and the third will be a "grocery store inventory."

I have some questions, though. Is it best to have "kitchen" and "grocery store" seperate? Is it possible to use one database for the products and simply denote how much of each product that I have in my kitchen?

Also - does anyone have any idea how I can deal with the problem of multiple measurements? For example, if I buy a gallon of milk, a recipe may call for three cups of milk...

am I going to have to implement some sort of conversion script or something to allow me to work between these different measurements?

OK.. to sum it up, what I'd like to do is enter 10 or 15 recipes... then, I'd like to be able to enter everything that I have in my kitchen into the database....

So, say I select "pasta alfredo" I'd like my database to check to see if I have enough pasta in my kitchen. If I do, it won't add it to the shopping list. If I don't, I'd want it on my shopping list so I can get it at the store.