Fuzzy display on Mac

dvalley

This topic is 6152 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

We are developing a solution to run in a mixed platform environment. The primary development is being done on Windows boxes running FMP 8.5 advanced. Layouts designed on these machines using Helvetica (9pt) plain font look fine on the PC, but are not as clear on the Mac (mostly Mini Macs with non Apple displays). They also look gray rather than the black text color selected. We have tried an Apple display and it looks better, but not as crisp as the PC. Note: the same layout (with same font, etc.)in FMP 6 looks fine on the Mac. Any suggestions?

I don't think there's much you can do. Anti-aliasing (font smoothing) is part of FM7/8, and text won't space correctly without it. You might see if different fonts look better.

Helvetica 9 is kind of small, even for PCs. I'm not an expert, especially about the future,* but as far as I know Macs have a display resolution of 72 pixels per sq in, whereas PCs use 96. So text on Macs is smaller. I would suggest you use Verdana 9 at the very least (still small, but readable), or better 10.

*I have heard the OS's of the future (perhaps Vista has it now, Mac 10.5, Leopard will also) will have more resolution indenpendence. You'll be able to change the display size of your LCD monitor without blurring your fonts at all.

My solutions are designed on Mac for PC's and Terminal Solutions, whcih are notorious for color and font deviations between all 3!

When I run into unsatisfactory issues like you mention I create a layout for each one with a script to control the jump using:

Abs ( Get ( SystemPlatform ) ) = 1 for Mac layout

else

PC layout

Although that is good for printing issues (where page sizes differ), my problem is that the new FileMaker and the new Macs don't play well with each other. Due to anti-aliasing, small fonts don't work on a Mac display and are blurred even if they are created on a Mac.