How do I display a selected record?

Derry

This topic is 6190 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I have selected a record in a portal. Now I want to go to another layout in which I have set up all the editable fields I want the user to be able to access (these are not portal fields). Programatically, I would like to say, go to such-and-such a layout and display the record whose (say) companyID field = $$ID. This seems like such a basic request, I'm almost ashamed to ask for help. I'm an experienced programmer, but I'm still wet behind the ears in Filemaker.

Hi Derry, if I understood you correctly you want to view/edit the record that is selected in the portal in another layout?

If this is correct place a button in the portal row and in Button Setup add the "GTRR" Go To Related Record" details.

If this is not correct can you post more info or a sample file?

Edited by Guest

• Newbies

Thanks for your reply. I will certainly explore GTRR to see if I can get it to work for me.

The setup I have is as follows: I have a "Company List" layout showing the names and locations of companies in a portal. When the user selects a portal row it highlights, then two new buttons appear at the top of the layout. (1) "Show Record" takes you to a "Company Details" layout which displays details about the company in one portal, a listing of contacts in another, and details of a selected contact in yet another. It sounds cluttered, but it works fine. (2) The second button is labled "Edit", and what I'm wanting to do is go to a layout which displays just the selected record. I want to be able to say... go to the "Edit Company" layout, and display the company whose ID = the ID of the company selected in the portal row.