link staff images to thir profile

This topic is 6126 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello

I'm a complete noob, just figured out a little about containers and calculations but don't really understand how to do this... or what the reference path should be.

I have 2000 people in a database

All their details showing up nicely

For most I have a photo for each (in a folder on my computer called "staffpics"

Each photo is titled as "FirstName (space) LastName.jpg", where FirstName and LastName are each fields in the profiles

* I just want their photo to appear when I skip through the profiles.

(extras... would be great if when clicked it opened up the original photo - probably would be bigger. would be great that if a photo didn't exist, it substituted it with a blank image (or one with a caption)

So far some one gave me the advice to have the image as a calculation outputting as a contain with this:

"image:/path/Macintosh HD/Users/Me/staffpics/" & First Name & " " & Last Name & ".jpg"

I am not 100% sure of what to do with this, or what the complete path should be, but I have tried it many many way, and instead of a photo I get a message saying "the file cannot be found: John Smith.jpg"

So it does seam to translate the variables, so maybe I have a path error.

I'm on a mac and I have the .fp7 file in a subfolder of documents, and the staffpics is directly under my name ie. at the same level as documents

Can anyone advise on what they think is going wrong here or if there is another solution, or even if I'm messing up the path.

All help very much appreciated, I have wasted too many hours on this.

Ps. I know that there is a big problem when 2 people have the same name, but for now I am just trying to get this to work. Later I'll have each person with a unique number and their image being number.jpg

Thanks again for any help.

A couple of questions.

1. Why do you have the word "path" in your file path?