I'm a beginner and have 2 simple questions

This topic is 8614 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello! I have been managing my customer data base for years using AW5 (AppleWorks 5) on my Mac, but now I have hired two assistants and I need them to also have access to the data base so I networked the Macs using ethernet & Appletalk... someone suggested FM 5 but I have two questions:

1. Can 3 users manage and work (view, search and SAVE) on the same database simultaneously? (This doesn't seem possible on AW5 or AW6... right?)

2. I have my customer data base on AW5, is it possible to export to FM5? how complicated of a process is this?

3. Anything else I should know or final suggestions?

Thanking you in advance I look forward to your answers.

Best!

Danny

quote:

Originally posted by dannylan:

Hello! I have been managing my customer data base for years using AW5 (AppleWorks 5) on my Mac, but now I have hired two assistants and I need them to also have access to the data base so I networked the Macs using ethernet & Appletalk... someone suggested FM 5 but I have two questions:

1. Can 3 users manage and work (view, search and SAVE) on the same database simultaneously? (This doesn't seem possible on AW5 or AW6... right?)

2. I have my customer data base on AW5, is it possible to export to FM5? how complicated of a process is this?

3. Anything else I should know or final suggestions?

Thanking you in advance I look forward to your answers.

Best!

Danny

1. FileMaker can allow users to view, edit and save data at the same time over a network, but they can't work on the same record. If one user is editing a particular record, other users won't be able to do anything except to view it.