remote server will not display available files

This topic is 5917 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

I am new to FileMaker and I am having difficulty connecting to a remote server. The "available files" do not appear. I entered the URL of the server and all seemed to work fine at this point however in the field at the right there is a list of "available files" which never appears. I am assuming my hardware firewall settings on my router are not letting me access the remote FileMaker server I need to access but I am not completely sure. Lets assume that is what is causing this inability to connect - a firewall issue. I need to break through my firewall somehow but without comprimising my security. I have not using any software firewall programs - just my Linksys router as my hardware firewall. How do I get through my router's firewall to enable me to use FileMaker to connect to the remote server?

My computer is a mac G3 running OS 10.4.11 and I am using FileMaker Pro 7 for the first time.

I am using a Linksys router (Wireless Router model WRT54GS) connected to a cable modem. The router has DHCP enabled. I phone Linksys tech support and they indicated I should try manually setting up my TCPIP settings. I am not sure how exactly to do this. They suggested:

manually assign my computer to 192.168.1.10

manually assign my router to 192.168.1.1

manually assign the two IP's my internet provider gave to me as my DNS servers. I am not sure how or where to do this - or any of this for that matter.

Then assign a port number to Filemaker Pro. I think this is done in the router admin setup. I am not 100% sure how to do this either - I will have to guess. Which ports exactly does FileMaker Pro use?

5003?

50003?

50006?

591?

2399?

5013?

I have heard all these port numbers are used in some way by FileMaker. Which is the one(s) I will need to know?